In the aftermath

A friend texted me to say that the images coming out of New York City in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy look like they belong in a disaster film. I couldn’t agree more. Despite the howling winds on Monday night, my neighbors and I came through the storm relatively unscathed, all of us harboring more than a bit of survivor’s guilt as the stories and photographs of the otherwise bright city shrouded in darkness stream across all of our media. The lights were finally turned on in lower Manhattan on Friday night. The photos in the slideshow below were taken on Thursday, just as dusk began to dissolve into evening; I had attempted to meet a friend in the Lower East Side to help with food packaging and redistribution for nearby residents who had been without power or electricity for nearly four days. Using my feet, slowly running subway, and bus, I made it as far as 20th and FDR before realizing that without a flashlight or other light source, continuing on would not be a prudent decision. Before making the trek back home, I snapped a few pics with my phone. In a few instances, I lightened the image to allow some of the background to come through that had been almost entirely obscured by the thick curtain of darkness; the sheer absence of light, of sound, of humans in this normally densely populated part of town was purely suffocating. I allowed myself a few minutes to indulge in this moment, to take in my environs via camera as well as sensorily, before releasing the awe that threatened to settle in — I wondered, then, of what value is awe (at nature, above all else) in a time like this? In a time when awe is better channeled into cleaning debris from parks, from streets, from neighborhoods, much of which is happening throughout the city in demonstrations of humanity and connectedness.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And from the NYTimes: Glimmers of light in a darkened city

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In the aftermath

  1. Bushu says:

    it was indeed a scary night hearing the wind blow so fiercely and also listening to the roof and some kind of heavy metal fly off and land near the door that kept banging every few seconds.. first the pattern of the rain dancing in the wind with light pink color thick clouds was a fascinating sight, the fury of nature who could bear it.. Glad that you and your friends were safe during the whole ordeal.. 🙂

  2. So glad you are safe and well. I’m not sure awe is something we can choose: I think it is rather overpowering when it arrives. Thats why it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

