What’s your “go-to salad”?

According to Jeff Elder: “You must have a go-to salad in your life

And by this, he means:

“a collection of fresh ingredients you can get in most stores, which you will never tire of, and can eat twice a week for the rest of your life.”

“We’re talking about building muscle memory here. Marines must be able to assemble their weapon in minutes in the dark: You must achieve that precision with your salad. It will save your life. You must be able to fix it without thinking. It is your go-to salad, and no one else’s.

If someone else has the same go-to salad, you must hunt that person down and avenge your salad.”

He then goes on to share his go-to salad ingredients. So that got me thinking about what my go-to salad is, and I realized I have two:

The super simple, Cyprus-inspired chop:

  • cucumbers
  • red onions
  • tomatoes
  • lime & dash of olive oil, salt & pepper
  • if i have it: crumble of feta
  • (and in a pinch, i’ll swap in either/or/and chopped avocado, red pepper, green apple — i like the red, purple, and green effect)

The casual green:

  • arugula
  • sliced pears or apples (orange slices, if I’m feeling crazy)
  • thinly sliced red or orange peppers
  • avocado (b/c I think it’s my spirit fruit-getable)
  • pepitas (roasted pumpkin seeds)
  • lemon juice & olive oil

So my go-to recipes are more conceptual than married to particular ingredients. Guess that works, too.

And, because Elder mentions having a go-to suit, I’ll share my ideal go-to work/casual/anywhere uniform: jeans, tee, cardigan (long or short-sleeved), and comfy canvas sneakers. It’s a no-brainer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s your “go-to salad”?

  1. I love the idea of the lime in the first salad. I used to love these when we travelled in Greece. I think I might try this as an Easter treat!

  2. Veena says:

    So funny, this is now my go-to salad, especially in the spring and summer, when tomatoes and cucumbers are sweet and full of delicious flavor! I also do some variations, including one with green apples and vary the herb between parsley, cilantro and dill.

    And hilarious on the outfit, also happens to be my go-to outfit and what I’m wearing today!

    Happy Spring!

Leave a Reply

