Sunday morning cafe

image

I get lost in words — on the page, spoken by others around me, the new ones that swirl with the old ones in my head.

Smells, sweet and savory, waft in my direction and then move swiftly away.

The occasional eye contact with a stranger; reading someone’s lips while pretending to listen intently to whatever is(n’t) streaming through my silent headphones; the random utterance or facial gesture that reminds me of my grandmother (she would’ve turned 90 yesterday).

Über concentrated forms of distraction.

Incarnations of bread and water.

Avoiding people/dogs while acting like I’m not bothered by (scared of) them.

Mind wandering, thoughts out of nowhere; a long standing dilemma eases naturally as if the answer was present all along; at peace with where I am.

This must be what church is like.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday morning cafe

  1. Suzy Victor says:

    would not let herself be here past 75 🙂 the inner sanctuary is always at peace, we tend to not recognize it when our outer body tends to crown with all thoughts, but once you do there is no going back..

  2. drabt says:

    Although my comment isn’t as deep or reflective as your post or the other comment, let me just say that I love “avoiding people/dogs.” Great use of the /.

Leave a Reply

